You are here

Professor & Director Hector D. Abruna *Department of Chemistry & Chemical Biology and Energy Materials Center at Cornell University Ithaca, New York

Event Date: 
Monday, March 12, 2018 - 3:30pm to 4:30pm

Operando Methods for The Study of Energy Materials

This presentation will deal with the development of operando methods for the study and characterization of fuel cell and battery materials. The presentation will begin with a brief overview of the methods employed. Particular emphasis will be placed on the use of X-ray diffraction (XRD), X-ray absorption spectroscopy (XAS) X-ray microscopy and tomography and transmission electron microscopy (TEM) under ac6ve poten6al control. The utility of these methods will be illustrated by selected examples including electrocatalysts for the oxygen reduction reaction and spectroscopic studies of Li/S batteries and Li metal deposition and dendritic growth. The use of operando TEM will be illustrated by studies of fuel cell catalyst degradation and coalescence and lithiation/de-lithiation dynamics of LiFePO4 via energy-filtered TEM. The presentation will conclude with an assessment of future directions.

Professor Abruña, Émile M. Chamot Professor of Chemistry is Director of the Energy Materials Center at Cornell (emc2).  He completed his graduate studies with Royce W. Murray and Thomas J. Meyer at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in 1980 and was a postdoctoral research associate with Allen J. Bard at the University of Texas at Austin from 1980-81. After a brief stay at the University of Puerto Rico, he joined Cornell in 1983.  He was Chair of the Department of Chemistry and Chemical Biology from 2004-2008. Prof. Abruña has been the recipient of numerous awards including a Presidential Young Investigator Award, A. P. Sloan Fellowship, J. S. Guggenheim Fellowship and J. W. Fulbright Senior Fellow.  He is the recipient of the Electrochemistry Award for the American Chemical Society (2008), and the C.N. Reilley Award in Electrochemistry for 2007.  He was elected Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science in 2007, member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 2007 and Fellow of the International Society of Electrochemistry in 2008.  He  received the D. C. Grahame Award from the Electrochemical Society for 2009, the Faraday Medal of the Royal Society for 2011, the Brian Conway Prize from the International Society of Electrochemistry for 2013, was named Fellow of the Electrochemical Society in 2013 and most recently (2017) was the recipient of the Gold Medal of the International Society of Electrochemistry. Prof. Abruña is the co-author of over 450 publications (h-index = 81) and has given over 600 invited lectures world-wide. He considers his 52 Ph.D. students and 65 Post-Doctoral associates, to date, as his most important professional achievement.


Event Location: 
Location Details: