You are here

Professor Jillian Buriak, Canada Research Chair of Nanomaterials for Energy & Alberta Innovates Industry Chair for Solar EnergyDept of Chemistry, University of Alberta

Event Date: 
Monday, December 10, 2018 - 3:30pm to 4:30pm

Patterning with Polymers: Directed Self-Assembly for Nanolithography

Nanopatterned surfaces are of central importance to a variety of areas and applications, such as computer chip architectures, tissue interfacing, biosensors, light management and plasmonics, among others. Typically, the various approaches to nanopatterning of surfaces, including silicon, are broken into two major classes: top-down methods such as photolithography, e-beam lithography and scanning force microscopy variants, and bottom-up synthetic techniques, including self-assembly. Since lithography is the single most expensive step in computer chip manufacturing, the use of self-assembled block copolymers (BCPs) templates on surfaces is being seriously considered by the semiconductor industry to pattern sub-20 nm features on a semiconductor surface; the Industry Technology Roadmap for Semiconductors (ITRS) terms this approach ‘directed self-assembly’, or DSA. Here, we will describe the remarkable versatility of using BCPs, polymers that contain sufficient chemical information to form highly ordered templates over large areas. These templates, which range from arrays of parallel lines, to dots, to much more complex Moiré superlattice patterns, can be converted into functional materials, such as metal nanostructures, molecules-on-silicon, and plasmonic stamps.

Jillian Buriak holds the Canada Research Chair of Nanomaterials for Energy, and the Alberta Innovates Industry Chair for Solar Energy. Buriak’s research group is interested in several themes of materials chemistry, including the development of materials for energy applications, including photovoltaics and energy storage, self-assembly for nanopatterning applications on semiconductor surfaces, and mechanistic surface chemistry on semiconductors such as silicon. She is presently Editor-in-Chief of the American Chemical Society journal, Chemistry of Materials.  Buriak is a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the Royal Society of Chemistry (UK), and the Royal Society of Canada. Recent awards include the Arthur Doolittle Award from the Polymer Materials Science and Engineering Division (PMSE) of the American Chemical Society (ACS), the Rio Tinto Alcan Award of the Canadian Society for Chemistry (CSC),  the Burghausen Award from the City of Burghausen, Germany, the E. W. R. Steacie Award from the CSC, and others. Buriak was on the Board of Reviewing Editors (BoRE) at Science from 2003 to 2008, was an Associate Editor at ACS Nano from 2009 to 2013.

Event Location: 
Location Details: